Chapel-en-le-Frith High School
Chapel-en-le-Frith High School Students

Thank you for taking an interest in our school; I hope that our website provides a flavour of the work that we do.

We are a caring, friendly and inclusive school with a fast developing reputation for academic excellence. Our success is founded on a wonderful staff team, a clear focus on learning and a desire to develop high aspirations in our students. We are lucky to work in modern accommodation on an attractive site that provides a superb environment for learning.

Our students are treated as individuals, supported by a strong pastoral system and given access to a wide range of extra-curricular activities. We want our students to leave school with excellent qualifications, high standards of literacy and ambitious plans for the future; above all we want them to have enjoyed school, grown in confidence and to have developed a love of learning.

We aim to match the achievements of the best schools in the country and we are determined to do so without losing the friendly, supportive and inclusive ethos that makes this school so special.

The exam results our students receive demonstrate the impact of our work, for the last four years our results have been well above national and local averages on all key indicators, with 71% of our students in summer 2015 achieving at least 5 A* to C grades including English and maths. More details of our 2015 results are available here. You may also want to use the Ofsted School Data Dashboard to look at the performance of our school or to compare it with other schools.

Admissions to our school are handled by Derbyshire County Council, you can get more details here.

We are always delighted to welcome visitors, please contact us if you would like to arrange a visit or would like further information about any aspect of our work.

Simon Grieves

Christmas Shopping Night

Christmas stocking

On Thursday, 26th November from 6.30-8.30pm in the School Hall and Dining Social Area.

Over 30 quality stalls selling a wide range of items including plants, hand-made soaps, toys, bags, handmade gifts, designer clothes, Christmas cards, Christmas cakes, decorations , jewellery and much more!

Only £2 entrance on the door, to include free festive refreshments and live music.  All proceeds directly help Chapel-en-le-Frith High School students and parents.

This year we will be raffling a “HUGE Hamper” on the evening, which will include a gift from every stall.

Please try to support this whole school and community event and bring your family and friends.  A relaxed, friendly atmosphere in which to shop under one roof is guaranteed and we look forward to welcoming you.

Years 8 & 9 Parents Information Evening

The school hosted another very successful series of workshops and presentations to support parents in their understanding of some of the issues faced by young teenagers in school and society.

Copies of the PowerPoint presentations and accompanying handouts are available to download (ZIP).

Admissions for September 2016

Our open days and open evenings this year were very well attended and we hope that our visitors found them useful in helping them to choose a secondary school.  If you missed the events, or if you would like to come back and have another look, we are very happy to show parents and year 5 and 6 students around school by appointment.  Please contact us if you would like a tour.

Equally, if you have any further questions about school admission, or about our school, please do get in touch.

Where has STEM Fun Day gone?

We’ve had a few enquiries this week about our popular and now traditional autumn term “fun day”, this isn’t surprising as earlier this year our calendars did carry an autumn term date for the event.

In fact, our Fun Day will now take place on Saturday 23rd April 2016 and we’ll be using the change of date to shift the emphasis of the event slightly – more details to follow.

Apologies for any confusion we may have caused.

Summer 2015 GCSE Results

Students receive GCSE results

We would like to congratulate our students on another stunning set of GCSE results.  Like others across the country they have endured a nervous wait but when the envelopes were opened this week they revealed some wonderful individual performances adding up to the school's best ever results with 71% of the school’s students achieving the government’s headline measure of 5 A* to C grades including English and Maths.  These results have continued our strong trend of improvement over recent years and are likely to be well above national averages.

The results reflect the hard work of our students and staff and the excellent support from student’s parents.  We are delighted that students of all abilities have made superb progress, some far exceeding expectations, meaning that they can now move on to further education or take up their apprenticeships secure in the knowledge that they have done their best and that the foundations have been laid for future success.  Strong results for our top students at A* and A grades are especially pleasing on a day when the national news has highlighted the importance of GCSE results to future university entry.

Well done to you all!

More News and Events »


See the latest newsletter for more details of events.

Date Event
Monday 26th October to Friday 30 October Half term week.
Sunday 1 November to Wednesday 4 November Year 11 trip to Poland.
Monday 2 November Students return to school 8.40 am.
Tuesday 3 November Parent Information Evening for Years 8 & 9: 6.00-8.45pm.
Thursday 5 November Year 11 Blood Brothers trip.
Wednesday 11 November Remembrance Assemblies.
Year 11 Parents’ Evening: 4.30-7.30 pm.
Friday 13 November Children in Need fundraising: Non uniform day.
Monday 16 November & Tuesday 17 November Catering Assessments 11o2 & 11o4.
Wednesday 18 November Learning for Life day.
Music Showcase 1.
Thursday 19 November Catering Assessment 11o2 & 11o4. Year 11 Parent Information Evening:  6.30-8.00 pm.
Friday 20 November Year 11 trip to the Skills Show.
Tuesday 24 November Year 11 Triple ISA re-sits Biology.
Moonwatch event: 5.00-7.00 pm.
Drama Double Bill: Act 1 - 6.00 pm; Act 2 - 6.45 pm.
Wednesday 25 November Year 11 Triple ISA re-sits Chemistry.
Thursday 26 November Year 11 Triple ISA re-sits Physics.
Christmas Shopping Night: 6.30-9.00pm.
Friday 27 November INSET Day.
Wednesday 2 December Year 7 Parents’ Evening: 4.30-7.30 pm.
Wednesday 9 December Carol concert at St Thomas Becket church: 7.00 pm.
Friday 18 December Break up for Christmas: 2.00 pm.
Monday 4 January INSET day.
Tuesday  5 January Students return to school—8.40 am.

Term Dates 2015-16

Autumn Term 1

Wednesday 9th September to Friday 23rd October 2015

Autumn Term 2

Monday 2nd November to Friday 18th December 2015

Inset Day Friday 27th November 2015

Spring Term 1

Tuesday 5th January to Friday 12th February 2016

Spring Term 2

Monday 22nd February to Thursday 24th March 2016

Summer Term 1

Tuesday 12th April to Friday 27th May 2016

Summer Term 2

Monday 6th June to Tuesday 26th July 2016

Inset Days for staff

Monday 7 September 2015
Tuesday 8 September 2015
Friday 27 November 2015
Monday 4 January 2016
Monday 11 April 2016

School Day Timings 2015-16

Time Period
8.40 Registration
8.55 Period 1
9.55 Period 2
10.55 Break
11.15 Period 3
12.15 Lunch
1.05 Period 4
2.05 Period 5
3.05 End of school day

Top of page | Copyright © 2006-2015 Chapel-en-le-Frith High School